top of page
Laxmi Diamonds.png

G7 nations to announce ban on Russian diamonds

The G7 nations are on the brink of announcing a ban on Russian diamonds, to take effect from 1 January 2024.

Belgian officials say they expect confirmation of the move within the next three weeks, according to reports by Reuters and the Financial Times (FT).

G7 members - Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the US (and the EU) account, between them, for 70 per cent of global diamond sales.

Speculation has been mounting in recent months that they will finally take action against Russia, backed by a traceability solution to effectively identify sanctioned goods.

Member nations were widely expected to announce restrictions when they met in Hiroshima, Japan, in May, but they deferred a decision.

"Russian diamonds are not forever and I am delighted that this ban on Russian diamonds is now materialising," Charles Michel, president of the European Council, said last Friday, according to an FT report.

For more Updates Do follow us on Social Media

Facebook Page

WhatsApp Group



bottom of page